Decision to open airports on June 9 for 19 Countries


The opening of airports for 19 countries, which were divided into two categories, was announced by the Minister of Transport, Giannis Karousos, after a meeting of the Council of Ministers. 

The first phase will last from June 9-19 and in it the travelers of the two categories will have to have an examination with them from a certified laboratory, according to which they are negative in covid 19. The control must have been done within 72 hours before departure.

From June 20, when the second phase begins, a certificate for travelers from the A ‘category of countries will be required, except for the NW. Cypriot citizens will be able to check on arrival in Cyprus and will remain in self-restraint until the examination results.

Classification of countries based on epidemiological picture The two categories of countries are as follows:
1st category: Greece, Malta, Bulgaria, Norway, Austria, Finland, Slovenia, Hungary, Israel, Denmark, Germany, Slovakia and Lithuania

the category: Switzerland, Poland, Romania, Croatia, Estonia and the Czech Republic.

 It is noted that from May 25, the mandatory quarantine will be abolished and citizens will be transferred to their homes for self-restraint. 

For those who are repatriated from May 25 to June 8, a laboratory test will be performed upon their arrival in Cyprus and they will remain in a place that will be indicated for a day or until the announcement of the result. 

They will then go home for a 7-day self-limitation for those from countries A and B, and a 14-day self-limit for those from all other countries. At the same time, the opening of the hotels was announced from June 1.